All translations for this page: Other translations for this page:

Forever young: Porsche Carrera GT

An automotive statement. What makes the Carrera GT so special? Horst von Saurma knows the legend very well ...

Text: Marko Knab Photo: SSSZphoto 04.06.2019 2 min

You hear him before you see him - if you see him at all: We are talking about the Porsche Carrera GT. A car that is as fast as it is extremely rare. Only 1,282 examples of the 612 HP strong roadgoing racecar were built. Driving it is therefore only a big dream for many people. Horst von Saurma is one who knows the super sports car very well. The ramp high speed expert drove it again for »Crazy about Porsche« - on the Bilster Berg.

Pushing the Limits

»In 2004 I did a supertest with the Carrera GT - and won the Trophy for the fastest road-legal car on the Nordschleife, awarded by the magazine ›sport auto‹. With a time of 7:32 minutes. Even after that time, it's still pretty exciting, but during that time it was a real challenge, just because the limit is pretty narrow. «

Toys for Big Boys

»Yeah, that's a real driver's car. It starts when you drive off: With little feeling in the throttle and clutch foot, you might choke it. Even starting the ten-cylinder engine is an unforgettable radio play, an acoustic sensation. The starter motor turns a few times and then the ten cylinder runs stable in increased idling speed, like a racing engine. It makes your neck hair rise! «

Fast Forward!

»Even if you don't look at the clock, everything in it is fast and dramatic. The way the engine turns up! The way car steers in, despite the steering not being so direct from today's point of view. And then this wonderful shifting feeling, with the hand on the wooden knob. It is all a great fit. The ten-cylinder sound is simply intoxicating. «

A modern Classic?

»I think the Carrera GT still looks like a modern car, both technically and in terms of design. It'll never look old. It is timeless and therefore an unforgettable automotive milestone. One of the absolute high points of the combustion era. «

All translations for this page: Other translations for this page:

Forever young: Porsche Carrera GT

Ein automobiles Statement. Was den Carrera GT so besonders macht? Horst von Saurma kennt die Legende bestens …

Text: Marko Knab Foto: SSSZphoto 04.06.2019 2 min

Man hört ihn, ehe man ihn sieht – wenn man ihn überhaupt sieht: Die Rede ist vom Porsche Carrera GT. Ein Auto, das ebenso schnell ist wie äußerst selten. Nur 1.282 Exemplare des 612 PS starken Rennwagens für die Straße wurden gebaut. Ihn zu fahren, bleibt für viele daher ein großer Traum. Einer, der den Supersportwagen bestens kennt, ist Horst von Saurma. Der ramp Hochgeschwindigkeitsexperte ist ihn für »Crazy about Porsche« noch einmal gefahren – auf dem Bilster Berg.

Willkommen im Grenzbereich

»2004 habe ich mit dem Carrera GT einen Supertest gemacht – und habe dabei die von der Fachzeitschrift sport auto ausgeschriebene Trophy für das schnellste straßenzugelassene Auto auf der Nordschleife gewonnen. Mit einer Zeit von 7:32 Minuten. Auch nachträglich ist diese Zeit noch immer ziemlich begeisternd, aber währenddessen war das schon eine echte Herausforderung, einfach, weil der Grenzbereich ziemlich schmal ist.«

Ein Porsche für die echten Fahrer

»Ja, das ist ein echtes Fahrerauto. Das beginnt schon beim Losfahren: Mit wenig Gefühl im Gas- und Kupplungsfuß würgt man es gerne ab. Schon das Anlassen des Zehnzylinders ist ein unvergessliches Hörspiel, ein akustisches Fanal. Der Anlasser dreht ein paarmal durch und dann läuft der Zehnzylinder stabil in erhöhtem Leerlauf – wie ein Rennmotor. Da stellt es einem sofort die Nackenhaare hoch!«

Der Zeitraffer

»Selbst wenn du nicht auf die Uhr schaust – alles an ihm ist schnell und dramatisch. Wie der Motor hochdreht! Wie das Auto einlenkt, trotz der aus heutiger Sicht gar nicht so direkt arbeitenden Lenkung. Und dann dieses wunderbare Schaltgefühl, mit der Hand am Holzknauf. Das hat alles wunderbar gepasst. Der Zehnzylinder-Klang ist schlicht berauschend.«

Ein moderner Klassiker?

»Ich finde, der Carrera GT kommt technisch und auch vom Design her noch immer wie ein modernes Auto daher. Er wird nie alt aussehen. Er ist zeitlos und damit ein unvergesslicher automobiler Meilenstein. Einer der absoluten Höhepunkt der Verbrenner-Ära.«