All translations for this page: Other translations for this page:

Formula E Santiago: High voltage guaranteed

Hola Santiago: for the second station of the season Formula E travels to the capital of South American Chile. Also at the start again: Porsche and its two works drivers Neel Jani and André Lotterer, who drive the all-electric Porsche 99X Electric there. What to know before the second station of the Formula E season.

Text: Jack Weil Photo: Porsche 17.01.2020 2 min

The track

After their first visit to downtown Santiago de Chile in 2018 (winner: Jean-Eric Vergne) the 2019 Formula E moved to O'Higgins Park (winner: Sam Bird). The electric racing series will also make a guest appearance there in 2020. The 2.348-kilometer circuit around the Movistar Arena with 14 bends and a long straight offers a lot of potential for entertainment - just like the "Fantasilandia" amusement park which is within sight.

the race

After the double dose of excitement at the start of the season, Formula E returns to its usual racing format in Santiago. Instead of two races in two days, this time only one race will take place on Saturday. All practice sessions, qualifying and the race itself are on the agenda. The latter lasts 45 minutes plus an additional lap. According to the FIA rules the winner gets 25 points, the runner-up 18, the third driver 15 points. Whoever gets the pole position secures another three points. The fastest race lap is worth another point.

The starting position

At the double-header in Saudi Arabia, Porsche took a position on the podium. André Lotterer was responsible for the made-to-measure debut - his second place in the opening race of the sixth Formula E season gives the Zuffenhausen-based brand sixth place in the team standings after two rounds. In the drivers' championship as well, the German's 18 championship points mean sixth place. His Swiss team-mate Neel Jani, on the other hand, is still waiting for the first points result and is trying to collect the first points of the season in Santiago.

© Porsche


More power to the fans, more power to the drivers: FanBoost makes it possible. Already days before the race until 15 minutes after the start, online votes are held to decide who can enjoy additional energy during the race. The five drivers with the most votes can unlock an extra 100 kilojoules after the 22nd minute - but only in a time window of up to five seconds. To vote for the Porsche drivers, visit the Formula E website or app or tweet the hashtags #AndréLotterer #FANBOOST or #NeelJani #FANBOOST.

© Porsche

What? When? Where?

The race (Saturday, 18.1.) can be watched live on TV as well as streamed online. It makes no difference whether you use the classic TV offer of Eurosport or the stream provided by ARD. While Eurosport already broadcasts from 19:45, the stream on ARD starts at 20:00. The race itself starts at 20:03. The ARD online offer is only available in Germany.